McDonalds and royal twilight

I was continuing my bad habit of getting supper at the fast food places a couple blocks from my place. The round crunch of the compacted snow on the sidewalk was good. Edmonton makes such a quiet sound in the background, a little like white noise, like there’s some unusual ocean around the edge of everything. Then I looked up into deep purples and chaste, thick, pastel pinks. The whole sky above the snowy trees was royal. The whole horizon was dark blue violet, so much so that I couldn’t just stare. I had to look down half the time, like I was somehow rude.

Just a little peeping tom astonished by someone’s magic bosom.

Leave a Reply

