“Along the way, many a times, we had heart-burns but we did not burn those sexy bras!”

I was going to write a killer takedown of the coalition – and of Stephen Harper this weekend… but right now I want to post about feminism all day. I want to post my favorite feminist/pro-woman country songs and about the feminism101 site I’ve gotten links to. But what I just found was a “possibly related” link that’s definately related. These are the first posted comments by people who call themselves feminists from a post on Ultra Violet called The Many Faces of an Indian Feminist:

(*ed- and here the lad started protesting)

Standing up & saying it:

In an ideal world, Feminism wouldn’t exist. And all feminists should work towards that ideal state when a woman won’t have to depend on legal intervention or resort to bra-burning to get her proportionate share of this world.
~Abhishek Vanamali, 31, Marketing & IT Professional, Mumbai

I’ve been a feminist for a long time — since before I knew what the word meant. My parents had a huge role to play in my understanding of gender roles because they refused to subscribe to or support more conventional notions. Having grown up in a family where people were free to define themselves as people, not as male and female, I always find it odd when people do the latter. Being married to a feminist also brings a different perspective to the systemic ideas of gender structures!

~Aditya Sengupta, 29, IT Professional, Bangalore

I’m a feminist because equality is a universal aspiration and I believe in doing my share to bring it about.

~Amrita Rajan, 27, Writer, New York

Along the way, many a times, we had heart-burns but we did not burn those sexy bras! We simply stood our ground, tolerated when we could, ranted when we could not, loved foolishly and hated when spurned. For those of us who found the going too tough, we walked out, hearts bleeding but the spirit intact, all ready to start afresh.
~Batull Tavawala, 44, Corporate Social Responsibility Professional, Mumbai

Some people around think I should call myself a “humanist” or at least, not a feminist “because you love men and talk about the repercussions of a patriarchal society on men’s lives too.” Yes, I love men. And I care deeply about the different ways in which conditioning has been robbing men and women of various freedoms.
~Chandni Parekh, 25, Psychologist and Sexuality Educator, Mumbai

I am a feminist because I like making my own choices and because it showed me we are not “born” anything, we “become” and are “made” everything. Feminism helped me cut past the noise of propaganda. Also, I love the devil horns and hairy legs they gave me at the Feminist licensing center.
~Gitika Talwar, 26, Graduate Student, Baltimore

As someone who stands in the intersection of several languages, cultures, and faiths, I have come to realize that personality differences matter more than biological sex, and that gender roles are simply another way by which people limit and make excuses for themselves.

~Heina Dadabhoy, 20, Student, California

I’m a woman. I am a human being. I want the rights, responsibilities, respect and consideration that are due a human being in all spheres of life. Until I get that, I’ll be calling myself a feminist.

~Iona Sharma, 21, student lawyer, Oxford, UK.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to ““Along the way, many a times, we had heart-burns but we did not burn those sexy bras!””

  1. earnestin Says:

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

